SAMASAMA Art Show & Gathering


Soul & Ink, the premiere live screen printing business in the DC area, and Batang Kankaloo (local DJ and photographer Les Talusan) will be hosting a one night only pop-up art show and gathering in honor of Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month. The namesake of the event, “SAMASAMA," is derived from the Malay language and is Tagalog/Pilipino for “you are welcome"; “all together”; and "united."

The event aims to showcase artists while benefitting Asian American Youth Leadership Empowerment and Development (AALEAD). Proceeds from suggested donations for admission and 10% of all art sales will go to AALEAD. AALEAD’s youth programs provide academic and enrichment support to low income and underserved youth in the DC metro area. Our goal is to highlight the Asian Pacific American experience to raise our voices collectively, acknowledging we’re part of a whole, and that we are all in this together.

EVENT DETAILS

SAMASAMA Art Show & Gathering
Wednesday, May 24, 6-10pm | 21+

Ten Tigers Parlour
3813 Georgia Ave NW, DC 20011

RSVP @ bitly.com/samasamafb

Suggested donation of $5-20 | Pay what you can. No one will be turned away.
Cash and credit card donations accepted

OFFICIAL LINE UP OF PARTICIPATING ARTISTS: 

Anna Martin | shredasylum.com
Ashley Dequilla | ashleydequilla.com
Chris Borales | chris-borales.format.com
Ding Ren | dingren.net
Elmer Calata | elmercalata.com
Grace Bio | 8x10collective.com
Golden Rabbit Silent Monkey
Julie Kang
Lisa Thach | lthachart.weebly.com
Chelove x MasPaz chelove.com | www.maspaz.co
John Ortiz | jgrafxstudios.com
Kicheko Goods | kichekogoods.com
Les Talusan | lestalusan.com/
Maria Miller | www.mariamillerart.com
Melanie Gritzka del Villar | www.gritzkadelvillar.com
Michelle Chen | instagram.com/shiyuart
Naomi Chung | naomichung.net
Nico Fertakis | instagram.com/nikovette
Reed Bmore | instagram.com/reedbmoreart
Sham E-Ali Nayeem | Sham-e-Ali.com
Shani Shih | shanishih.com
Shyama R. Kuver | instagram.com/heartovercrown
Soul & Ink| soulandinkcrew.com
Zunzima | zunzima.com
Chantale Wong
Hanna Eunbi Son | instagram.com/kotorimemoirs
Dan Roncesvalles | dripbook.com/lightup

*Special thanks to our planning committee Frame Avenue Design and Shani Shih for helping us bring this show to life. 

Live Screen Printing
Soul & Ink will hand pull limited edition prints and t-shirts of new SAMASAMA inspired designs.

Audio Performances
Les Talusan a.k.a. The Pinstriped Rebel will curate an all-vinyl set of music by Asian American and Pacific Islander artists. High caliber sounds flow through a newly-installed Martin Audio sound system at Ten Tigers Parlour.